Facebook online training course

Facebook lesson 20, Downloading and removal

Downloading your Facebook data

You can download all your data like photos and messages to your computer.
Go to "Account settings" by and in the "General" section on the bottom of the page you will see a link that says "Download a copy of your Facebook data".

Click on "Download a copy of your Facebook data" and in the new window that opens click on "Start my archive".
When your archive is ready to be downloaded you will receive a email from Facebook with a link in it.
Click on this link and your entire archive will be downloaded to your computer.

Deactivating your account

When you have had enough of Facebook you can deactivate your account.
When deactivated it will disappear for your friends but its not gone forever because you haven't removed your account totally yet.
Removing your account entirely from Facebook will be explained later.

To deactivate your account you need to go to "Account settings" and click on the "Security" section.
On the bottom of this page you will see a link that says "Deactivate your account".
Once you click on this link a new window will open to start deactivating your account.

Its obligated to give a reason why you are leaving and i recommend that you also check the box "Opt out of receiving future emails from Facebook" so you wont be receiving any emails from Facebook.
Once your done with everything click on "Confirm" and your account will be deactivated.

As a security measure Facebook will ask you to enter your password.
Fill in this field and click "Deactivate now".

Next you will need to do the security check by retyping the text in the box and clicking on "Submit".
Now your account is deactivated.

Reactivating your account

To reactivate your account just go to the homepage of Facebook : www.facebook.com
Enter your email adress and password, click "Login" and your account is activated once more.

Indefinitely removing your account

When you are sure that you want to remove your account from Facebook and never want to use this account again you can also remove your account forever.
But beware, once you have done this it cannot be undone.
You can't remove your account indefinitely yourself but to do this you need to send a request to Facebook.

On Facebook scroll all the way down and click on "Help".

In the searchbar type "Remove account" and you will get a few results from which you need to choose "How to permanently delete my account".

In the newly opened window you can read that when you want to permanently remove you account you need to click on "submit your request here".

Next click on "Submit".

Next you will need to enter your password and the security check.
When your done click on "Ok".

You will get a notification that your account is deactivated and that it will be removed permanently after 14 days, click on "Ok".
If you login before the end of 14 days your account will be reactivated again.
So after doing this you still have 14 days to change you mind.